Science, Innovation & Society: What Have We Learnt From The Covid-19 Pandemic?

Science Gallery Bengaluru

Part of CONTAGION

Past Event

When

Sunday, Jun 13, 2021
from 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM (UTC)

This event has passed.

Have a look at more upcoming events like this

Registration Required

Hosts

Science Gallery Bengaluru

Languages

EnglishEnglish

Channels

COVID-19

Virt India

Science Gallery Bengaluru is organising CONTAGION, an online exhibition that explores the transmission of emotions, behaviours and diseases.

Science, Innovation & Society: What Have We Learnt From The Covid-19 Pandemic?

Sir Jeremy Farrar

Director

Wellcome Trust

Sunday, 13 June 2021

06:30 PM IST | 02:00 PM BST | 09:00 AM EDT | 03:00 PM CET

About the Expert

Sir Jeremy Farrar is Director of the Wellcome Trust—a politically and financially independent global charitable foundation that exists to fund science to solve the urgent health challenges facing everyone. Jeremy is a clinician scientist who, before joining Wellcome, was the Director of the Oxford University Clinical Research Unit in Viet Nam for eighteen years. He is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences UK, the National Academies USA, the European Molecular Biology Organisation and a Fellow of The Royal Society. Jeremy was knighted in the Queen’s 2018 New Year Honours for services to Global Health.

CONTAGION’S PUBLIC LECTURE SERIES:

As a part of our public programming, we will invite experts and early-career researchers from various disciplines such as epidemiology, infectious diseases research, and history, among others. They will talk about cutting-edge research, historical responses to contagion, and pressing issues in today’s world, to give the audience insights into how contagion is studied, mapped, and understood in a host of ways.

Know more about CONTAGION here.

Sign-up for updates about CONTAGION here.

Hosts

Science Gallery Bengaluru